How to install pbs on compute node and configure the server and compute node?

Hi guys,
I am new to HPC and PBS or torque. I am able to install PBS pro from source code on my head node . But not sure how to install the compute node and cconfigure it. I didn’t see any documentation in the github either. Can anyone give me some help? Thanks

Install is pretty similar on the compute nodes - however, you do not need the “server” parts.
There are OK docs on the Altair “pro” site, see answer to previous question “documentation-is-missing/81”.

In short, you the Altair docs for v13, and/or the INSTALL file procedure. (Or install from pre-build binaries).
Actual method will depend on your system type etc.

I prefer to install using pre-compiled RPMs (CentOS72 systems), which presently means that I will compile these from tarball+spec-file (slightly modified spec-file).

Hope this helps.
/Bjarne

@Joey thanks for joining the pbspro forum.

You can find the documentation about pbspro here: https://pbspro.atlassian.net/wiki/display/PBSPro/User+Documentation

Kindly do not hesitate to post questions about any specific issues you are facing.

Thanks,
Subhasis

Thanks for your reply.

I rebuild the CentOS72 rpm with the src from Centos7.zip
installed pbspro-server-14.1.0-13.1.x86_64.rpm on mye headnode
installed pbspro-execution-14.1.0-13.1.x86_64.rpm on my compute node.
On the head node
create /var/spool/pbs/server_priv/nodes with following:

computenode1 np=1

/etc/pbs.conf:
PBS_SERVER=headnode
PBS_START_SERVER=1
PBS_START_SCHED=1
PBS_START_COMM=1
PBS_START_MOM=0
PBS_EXEC=/opt/pbs
PBS_HOME=/var/spool/pbs
PBS_CORE_LIMIT=unlimited
PBS_SCP=/bin/scp

on the compute node

/var/spool/pbs/mom_priv/config as following

$logevent 0x1ff
$clienthost headnode
$restrict_user_maxsysid 999

/etc/pbs.conf
PBS_SERVER=headnode
PBS_START_SERVER=0
PBS_START_SCHED=0
PBS_START_COMM=0
PBS_START_MOM=1
PBS_EXEC=/opt/pbs
PBS_HOME=/var/spool/pbs
PBS_CORE_LIMIT=unlimited
PBS_SCP=/bin/scp