PP-741: Need a default job specific to Cray in PTL

Hi All,

Please review the design document created for “Default Cray job” as part of Cray PTL support.
https://pbspro.atlassian.net/wiki/display/PD/PP-741%3A+Need+a+default+job+specific+to+Cray+in+PTL

Please do let me know of any comments or suggestions.

Thanks and Regards,
Sanket

Hi @borlesanket,
I think it would be better if we use “aprun -B sleep 100” as the aprun default instead of “aprun -n 1”

I am a bit confused, probably because I am still learning PTL, it seems like Job.create_script is unsetting whatever your design says should be set in Job()…can you add more text to explain what is being unset in create_script and why.

@borlesanket, could you give examples? In Job.create_script() why do you need a cleanup process? And when do you run the three bulleted steps, is it before or after the job is submitted? Are there any error checking and what happens in case of errors?

@lisa-altair, I have updated the document, please have a look.

@vccardenas, I have added some more information regarding create_script. All three bulleted steps will get executed before the job submission.Regarding error checking create_script internally calls Dshutil’s function which handles errors.

Example:

j = Job(TEST_USER) - This will call “cray_script” which will internally call “create_script” and will set “script” as default cray script, also will set “Resource_List.select” to default value “1:ncpus=1:vntype=cray_compute”.

After this if we call create_script inside testcase as:
j.create_script(script body) - This will execute all three bulleted steps.

Let me know if you have more questions/doubts.