Starting the MoM

Hello everyone,

I am new to PBS Professional, I would like to learn more the principals of the HPC. I need your help here :slight_smile:

I am experiencing problems in running the small cluster (system with 2 nodes) on CentOS7.
After I run the pbs on the compute node (MoM) I get the information:
Starting PBS
… /var/spool/pbs needs updating
Running /opt/pbs/livexec/pbs_habitat to update it.
*** Invalid entry in /var/spool/pbs/mom_priv/config
*** for clienthost: CHANGE_THIS_TO_PBS_PRO_SERVER_HOSTNAME

even though I changed the name in the /etc/pbs.conf the file PBS_HOME/mom_priv/config stays the same, does not update automatically while running /etc/init.d/pbs
Should I always change the /var/spool/pbs/mom_priv/config manually? I guess it should be changed automatically depending on the entry in the /etc/pbf.conf

If I do so (change manually the entry to the proper name of the server - pbs_head as set in the /etc/hosts file for the server) the output is like this:
Starting PBS
PBS mom

But after runing /etc/init.d/pbs status I get information that “pbs_mom is not running”. Still…
Running manually the pbs_mom also does not eventually start the pbs_mom (pbs status says it is not running, I also don’t see the pbs_mom in the list of processes). The server starts without any problems :confused:

Could you please help me and tell how should I do it properly to set the configuration and start MoM?

Here is the output of pbs_probe:

====== System Information =======

sysname=Linux
nodename=localhost.localdomain
release=3.10.0-327.el7.x86_64
version=#1 SMP Thu Nov 19 22:10:57 UTC 2015
machine=x86_64

====== Problems in PBS EXEC Hierarchy =======

Permission/Ownership Problems:

/opt/pbs/sbin/pbs_mom
(-rwxr-xr-x , root , root) needs to be (-rwx------ , root, group id < 10)

/opt/pbs/bin/nqs2pbs
(-rwxr-xr-x , root , root) needs to be (-rwx------ , root, group id < 10)
Real Path Problems:
/opt/pbs/sbin/pbs-report, No such file or directory