Pbs_iff: error returned: 15031 / No Permission. / qstat: cannot connect to server host (errno+15007)

Hello guys,

I am new in my company and recently I was trying to make some changes in our PBS Pro V12.0.1 (commercial).
We have a SGi cluster to run fluent and cfd++ and, as I was told, recently PBS stopped working.
Every time I submitted a new job to any queue (we have the workq, cfd and fluent) we got the answer:
qsub: Bad UID for job execution.

At this time, qmgr and qstat were working.

I tried to solve this problem changing some stuff in qmgr, using set server acl_host, set server acl_user and etc, with no change in the problem, but also we could still access qstat and qmgr.

Then, we tried to add set server acl_hosts_enable into qmgr, and after making this input we lost connection to PBS.
I mean, I can use pbs_probe, pbs_mom and the server is working, however we cannot even check the qstat or qmgr anymore, we get these outputs:

$: qstat
pbs_iff: error returned: 15031
No Permission.
qstat: cannot connect to server host (errno+15007)

$: qmgr
No Permission.
qstat: cannot connect to server host (errno+15007)

I even tried reconnecting to the server, without success:

$: pbs_iff -t host 15001

Can anyone help us?
Thanks for your attention and your time.

Kind regards,
Alexandre Medina

I suspect that PBS_EXEC/sbin/pbs_iff is no longer SUID or the network filesystem on which the file lives is mounted in such a way that it prevents SUID programs from obtaining root access. There are two binaries in sbin that should be SUID… pbs_iff and pbs_rcp.

If that doesn’t help, you may want to look up the flatuid setting for the PBS server in the admin guide.

Since you’re running commercial PBS, please feel free to contact Altair customer support if these suggestions don’t resolve your issue.

Dear mkaro, thanks very much for your help.