Qstat -xtw doesn't work, w option needs a,n, T , s or f

Hi,

I am relatively new to the PBS Pro world, I have administered a torque system in the past but it’s been a while. For my current cluster I am running CentOS 7 and because of the updated Kernel I needed to install from source code as the RPM was failing due to missing dependency.

I use an application (Nice-Software EngineFrame) that communicates directly with PBS to create accelerated interactive sessions for users. It also manages authentication, scheduler interfacing and job management and status monitoring.

Currently I am able to create the interactive sessions (simply a front end for qsub commands) I am not able to monitor them due to an “error” with running the command qstat -xtw.

I checked with the developers of Nice-Software and they were able to run the command on their sandbox systems with no issue. when I run it I get the following:

qstat -xtw
qstat: option w can be used only with option a, n, T, s or f
usage:
qstat [-f] [-J] [-p] [-t] [-x] [-E] [-F format] [-D delim] [ job_identifier… | destination… ]
qstat [-a|-i|-r|-H|-T] [-J] [-t] [-u user] [-n] [-s] [-G|-M] [-1] [-w]
[ job_identifier… | destination… ]
qstat -Q [-f] [-F format] [-D delim] [ destination… ]
qstat -q [-G|-M] [ destination… ]
qstat -B [-f] [-F format] [-D delim] [ server_name… ]
qstat --version

I am not sure what is different between our implementations other than they have installed from an RPM and I installed from the source.

Should I uninstall and try an older version of PBS or is this something that is common to all PBS versions.

I really appreciate any help or guidance on this issue.

Regards,

Ahmed.

Could you please try these commands:

1. qstat -xTw
  2. qstat -wns1
  3. qstat -xt

Could you please share the output of the command used by Nice-Softwaer developers ?
It might have been a wrapper script on top of qstat output.